Mesmerised & Hooked…

So, day two of having my own blog. As I lay here on my phone, scrolling through such a richly versatile range of posts, I stop to think and reflect… Not the wisest of things to do at the best of times but for a change I think it paid off.

Well at least for me it did, and Jasper (the cat) who is sat on my feet in bed, doesn’t seem to mind so all’s good.

The though of having somewhere to “brain fart” outside of the confides of my own head was quiet exciting and novel (yes the pun was intended). It was quiet cathartic to dig up a couple of things I’d put together a while back and read through them again, to see how I’ve changed (and how I haven’t changed).

It took me back to being at University, those 2am stints in the library buried in books spending 20 minutes trying to get to a stage where I was happy with the flow and sentence structure of ONE SODDING PARAGRAPH! Yes it was as ‘nerdy’ as it sounds and what’s even more nerdy is the fact that I look back on those vending machine coffee fuelled nights with great fondness.

I had even forgotten how much I enjoyed just playing with words. Taking a single concept and exploring all the different paths and directions it could be taken, then, having the challenge of fitting all of that into such a small space of a 2/3000 word limit.

Back to present day (namely this afternoon, soon to be yesterday afternoon), a friend and colleague of mine happened to read my first post and gave me the simplest of feed back which had the profound effect of being the driving force behind this post, she merely said: “You’ve got a nice style of writing, keep it up.”

S**t!!! Somebody else has actually read what I’ve written… Like, to the end and everything!

It was really kind of her to pay the compliment but the “keep it up” bit… Erm… It was a brain fart, at least in comparison to some of the seasoned pro’s I’ve been reading over the past couple of days.

Which ever way I look at it, mesmerised or otherwise, it’s been great to get that “2am” feeling back and no matter what, I’m well and truly hooked. đŸ™‚

20140617-001852-1132755.jpg

2 thoughts on “Mesmerised & Hooked…”

  1. I was always far too organised for last-dash-2am-essay-writing-OHMYGOD moments, however I’m with you on the simple satisfaction of wrestling a complicated concept into a single flowing paragraph. Thanks for sharing the memory – now I’m smiling too!

Leave a comment